Fairfax & Roberts的歷史

1842年是年輕的維多利亞女王在英俊的阿爾伯特親王陪伴下登基的第五年。這一年,繁華的悉尼宣布建城。

Richard Lamb,1836年從倫敦移民至悉尼後,成為一名珠寶和眼鏡制作商。他與來自Fairfax家族的Alfred Fairfax一起,創立了悉尼第一家高級銀器和鐘錶店。店鋪位於 喬治街394號 ——當時已是這座發展中城市的繁華主街。 

在日趨激烈的競爭下,Lamb & Fairfax優秀的合作經營很快得到公認。

許多企業主陸續在悉尼新興的商業區開設店舖,但這對生意夥伴繼續立身這年輕的國家,製造質量最可靠的鐘錶,進口最優質的銀料。他們的產品就是卓越品質的證明,時至今日,Lamb & Fairfax生產的時鐘仍在運轉。

當時的珠寶設計深受歐洲風格影響,Lamb & Fairfax在內的澳大利亞珠寶商通過打造澳洲殖民地身分的首飾,在珠寶製作中留下自己的獨特印記。

女性胸針通常以鑲嵌在浮雕或馬賽克周圍,由歐洲銀雕製的本國動植物為特色。紳士們的飾品由華麗的飾針、領扣和金錶鏈組成,這在保守時期像征著地位和格調。

19世紀50年代黃金的發現為新州和維州帶來淘金熱,澳大利亞變得繁榮,人口也隨之增長。

伴隨著新一輪的移民潮,新的珠寶風格也隨之而來。正是在這種充滿自信的環境中,Lamb & Fairfax真正建立起來,成為現存品牌的基石。

澳大利亞的淘金熱吸引了來自世界各地的財富追求者,其中不乏珠寶商。

來自英格蘭和歐洲的工匠們擁有的珠寶製作技能和設計品味在殖民地受到歡迎。許多珠寶商在搬至城市作坊前都在金礦區開設生意。在當時還沒有攝影技術的情況下,描繪金礦區生活和成功的紀念品首飾非常受歡迎。當時的胸針通常以采礦設備為主題,周圍環繞著動物群,成為時代的記憶物件。

Visit our flagship showroom

悉尼人口和財富的激增促生了對奢侈品的渴望—無論是本地還是進口商品。

悉尼的上層社會發展迅速,整座城市充滿了活力。白天有博物館和動物園可供參觀,到了夜晚,煤氣燈照亮街道,市民們前往劇院和派對。Lamb & Fairfax成為一個家喻戶曉的優質和奢華的代名詞,其門店成為那些來自內陸莊園的富有鄉郊家庭在悉尼的首選目的地。

 

這時的澳大利亞仍受到歐洲的深刻影響,但一種民族自豪感正在升起。

1879年舉行的悉尼國際博覽會是當時的世界貿易盛會。據報導,“參與展會的悉尼商業主眾多,會上展出了大量殖民地風格的珠寶和金銀器工藝品。參展工藝品大多為鮮明的澳大利亞風格,其設計元素取自原住民生活,描繪了原住民、他們的工具和生活習慣,以及本土原生動植物。工藝品所使用的貴金屬和寶石主要來自殖民地。”

1879年3月15日,《Town and Country Journal》雜誌報導了贈予新南威爾士州州長夫人Robinson的一支金手鐲。文章中寫到:“ 由Lamb & Fairfax先生設計並制造”。

這隻金手鐲很大,含超過3盎司純金,寬2英吋。手鐲正面的金質凸起字母為Robinson貴夫人的姓名縮寫,綴有30枚鑲在一顆吉普賽之星中的拋光圓鑽。在敞開式金質基底的襯托下,每顆寶石盡顯光澤。手鐲下半部的內側還精刻有“悉尼1879年3月1日” 字樣。這支手鐲被收藏在帶有鎳銀底腳的珠寶盒中,置於紅色天鵝絨枕墊上。

在Richard Lamb於1876年逝世後,Alfred Fairfax的侄子Barton加入了企業經營。

Fairfax家族二人隨後與新投資人Oscar G. Roberts合作,並在1886年將企業名稱改為Fairfax & Roberts。隨著位於悉尼Hunter街的新工坊和倫敦分店的成立,Fairfax & Roberts成為了澳大利亞第一珠寶品牌。

擁有店內作坊代表著Fairfax & Roberts可為客戶提供珠寶定制服務。按客戶要求特別打造,並由工藝師現場制作——這一傳統一直延續至今。

Fairfax & Roberts與世界各地的供應伙伴合作,確保每件珠寶都取材自最優質的寶石和貴金屬。

1858年,Fairfax & Roberts在倫敦的珠寶鑒定機構注冊了制造標記,確保顧客購得的首飾貨真價實,並符合最高制作標准。

1888年,該企業被描述為獨特的珠寶制造商,“……根據訂單將鑽石和其他寶石鑲嵌在戒指、胸針、頭飾和其他飾品上。為此,珠寶行擁有大量的寶石庫存”。Fairfax & Roberts此時成為了澳大利亞第一珠寶商。

 

新世紀帶來了諸多變革,最重要的便是1901年澳大利亞國家的成立。在新興愛國主義的激揚下,一批反映這一主題的珠寶作品應時而生。

展示澳大利亞本土動植物的胸針再度大受歡迎。具有樹袋熊、袋鼠和鱷魚圖樣的飾品受到大眾喜愛。

Book A Jewellery Consultation

在澳大利亞獨立建國後,本國出產的澳寶石、藍寶石、紫水晶和鑽石得到更多應用。

1899年的大不列顛展覽會展出了一套鑲有昆士蘭寶石的珠寶。《布裡斯班每日郵報》在報道中興奮地寫道: “整個倫敦都看見、欣賞並談論這些珠寶,最後還買下它們佩戴” 。

 

在第一次世界大戰的炮聲逐漸消去後,爵士樂時代的歌舞昇平隨之到來。 

海港大橋開工建設,悉尼擁有了屬於自己的大膽風格。戰後的欣欣向榮為時尚和珠寶界注入了活力。正是在這兩次世界大戰之間的黃金年代,Art Deco藝術風格誕生了。

隨著時尚風格變得更為簡化和線性化,珠寶設計風格也發生改變。流線型的幾何形狀—正方形、三角形和棋盤形—愈發受到歡迎。

在現代風格的珠寶設計中,玉石、瑪瑙和珊瑚,結合較為傳統的寶石和金屬材料成為時尚,最後由精湛的工藝製為成品。

隨著經濟蓬勃發展,使用貴重寶石成為非常值得順應的趨勢。像祖母綠和紅寶石這樣色彩鮮艷的寶石尤其受到歡迎。 

奪目的寶石與黃金和鉑金等稀貴金屬搭配,創造出優雅的現代風格作品,讓時代精神永駐。

Fairfax & Roberts的珠寶首飾受到高度讚譽。在威爾士親王1927年訪問澳大利亞時,兩位創始人精心打造一枚純銀袋鼠胸針,贈予這位未來的大英帝國國王。

通過為未來妻子Wallis Simpson(她擁有傳奇般的珠寶收藏)購買禮物,愛德華八世很快就收穫了具有敏銳眼光的珠寶鑑賞家的聲譽。

在裙邊變短的同時,女士們將頭髮燙成波浪形—這激起了她們對精致珠寶發飾和閃耀耳墜的渴望—耳墜不再被樣式繁雜的頭髮遮蓋。

在悉尼的各式盛會中,與會者盛行佩戴流行的奢華珠寶。這樣的盛會包括意大利歌劇女星Toti Dal Monte和丈夫Enzo de Muro Lomanto在聖瑪麗大教堂舉行的婚禮,  一時學院街上聚集了25,000人觀看;或是1928年3月Warwick Fairfax先生和Marcie Wilson小姐的婚禮。六位優雅的伴娘出席了這場婚禮,婚禮結束後的賓客招待在Rose Bay的Yandooya舉行。

FAIRFAX & ROBERTS 被譽為是澳洲裝飾藝術(Art Deco)時期設計鼻祖.Art Deco藝術風行時期的女性對服裝進行簡化,但這一時期的珠寶設計仍極為精緻。由於該藝術風格如此恆久,這一風格的設計技巧與工藝至今仍在Fairfax & Roberts的首飾中體現。

正是在這充滿希望與活力的時代,Fairfax & Roberts鞏固了品牌的聲譽,成為最具鑑賞眼光家族的首選珠寶商。我們對設計原創性和創新的承諾,伴以手工匠的熟稔技藝,以及對世界最優質寶石的發掘和收集,還有堪稱典範的客戶服務,確保了Fairfax & Roberts以歷史和傳統鋪就一條通向未來的道路。時至今日,Fairfax & Roberts仍以激情和熱忱延續這條道路。

Learn about our bespoke design process

ENQUIRE

THE HISTORY OF FAIRFAX & ROBERTS

The year was 1842. Young Queen Victoria and her handsome consort Prince Albert had been on the throne for five years and the bustling town of Sydney had just been declared a city.

Richard Lamb, who had emigrated from London to Sydney in 1836 and established himself as a jeweller and optician was joined by Alfred Fairfax – of the Fairfax publishing family – to create Sydney’s first emporium for fine silver and watchmaking at 394 George St – already the bustling artery of the growing city. 

Lamb & Fairfax quickly became a partnership recognised for excellence in the face of increasing competition.

A number of businessmen and merchants were establishing themselves in Sydney’s burgeoning commercial district, but the pair continued to manufacture the most reliable timepieces, and import the finest silver, in the young nation. A testament to their excellence is their work, with Lamb & Fairfax clocks still keeping time today.

While the jewellery of the time was much influenced by European styles, Australian jewellers such as Lamb & Fairfax made their own mark on the craft by producing pieces that strongly reflected Australia’s identity as a colony.

Women’s brooches often featured native flora and fauna, set with European silver, around a cameo or mosaic. Gentleman’s jewellery consisted of ornate breast pins, studs and gold watch chains, which signified status and style within a conservative period.

The discovery of gold in the 1850s brought a gold rush to NSW and Victoria, and with it Australia’s prosperity and population grew.

Along with a new wave of immigration came new styles of jewellery. And it was in this environment – rich with confidence, that Lamb & Fairfax was truly established, the bedrock of the brand that still exists today.

The Australian gold rush attracted fortune seekers from around the world, a number of whom were jewellers.

Craftsmen came from England and Europe and brought with them skills and an eye for design that were welcomed in the colony. Many set up in the goldfields before moving into manufacturing premises in the city and, at a time when photography did not yet exist, souvenir jewellery that literally depicted life, and success, on the goldfields was very popular. Brooches often featured mining equipment surrounded by fauna to create mementoes of the time.

Visit our flagship showroom

The boom in population and new wealth in Sydney created a desire for luxury goods – both locally crafted and imported.

Sydney’s upper class grew rapidly and the city was full of life. There were museums and zoos to visit by day, and at night, gas lamps lit the streets as citizens travelled to theatres and parties. Lamb & Fairfax became a household name synonymous with quality and luxury and the store was the destination of choice for wealthy rural families who visited Sydney from their inland estates.

 

Australia at this time was still heavily influenced by Europe, but a sense of national pride was emerging.

The Sydney International Exhibition, a world trade event of the time, was held in 1879 and articles reported “a very large display of colonial jewellery and gold and silversmiths’ work, and the Sydney houses are extensive exhibitors. As a rule the style is distinctly Australian, the designs being suggested by incidents in aboriginal life and portraying the natives, their implements and habits and the indigenous fauna and flora of the country. The precious metals and gems employed are principally colonial.”

On 15 March 1879, the Town and Country Journal illustrated a gold bracelet presented to Lady Robinson, wife of the governor of New South Wales with the following description, “Designed and manufactured by Messrs Lamb & Fairfax.

The gold bracelet is massive, containing over 3 oz of fine gold, and has a depth of 2 inches. On the front are her ladyship’s initials N. R. in raised gold ornamental cypher, studded with 30 brilliants in a gipsy star, and burnished settings. The gold under each stone being left open adds considerably to the lustre of the gem; the lower half has the inscription “Sydney March 1st 1879” nicely engraved on its inner side. The bracelet has been fitted into a casket with nickel and silver mounts and rests on a bed of red velvet.”

Following the death of Richard Lamb in 1876, Alfred Fairfax’s nephew, Barton, had joined him in the business.

The Fairfax duo then partnered with a new investor, Oscar G. Roberts, and in 1886, the name of the business was changed to Fairfax & Roberts. With a new workshop on Hunter St and an outlet in London, the Fairfax & Roberts brand took its place as Australia’s premier jeweller.

In-house workshops in their stores meant that Fairfax & Roberts could offer clients bespoke jewellery that was designed to their specification and crafted by artisans on-site – a tradition the business continues to uphold today.

They worked with partners around the world to ensure that their jewellery was made using only the finest gems and precious metals.

In 1858 the company registered their maker’s mark with the Assay office in London, ensuring that customers could be confident that their jewellery was authentically Fairfax & Roberts and had been crafted to the highest of standards.

In 1888 the firm was described as manufacturers of jewellery with a speciality “… in the setting to order of diamonds and other gems in rings, brooches, tiaras and other ornaments. For this purpose a large stock of stones on hand”. Roberts brand took its place as Australia’s premier jeweller.

 

The turn of the century brought with it many changes – significantly, Australia became a nation in 1901, sparking newfound patriotism and a wave of jewellery to accompany it.

Brooches that showcased the country’s native flora and fauna were once again hugely popular and everything from kookaburras to kangaroos and crocodiles featured in these simple pieces that were popular with the masses.

Book A Jewellery Consultation

Australia’s independence was accompanied by increasing use of locally mined opals, sapphires, amethysts and diamonds.

A suite of jewellery containing gems from Queensland was displayed at the Greater Britain Exhibition of 1899 and the Brisbane Daily Mail breathlessly reported that “all London saw, admired and talked of them and better still, later bought and wore them.”

 

As the sound of the cannons of World War I faded, it was replaced with the fizz and bubble of the Jazz Age. 

Work had begun on the Harbour Bridge and Sydney had a bold style of its own. Post-war enthusiasm invigorated the fashion and jewellery world, and it was in these golden inter-war years that Art Deco was born.

With fashion becoming simpler and more linear, jewellery was changing too, with streamlined, geometric shapes – squares, triangles and chevrons – becoming increasingly popular.

Fairfax & Roberts became the jewellers of choice for design and craftsmanship of luxury jewellery of the time. Materials such as jade, onyx and coral came into fashion with more traditional stones and metals in designs that were sleek, modern and exquisitely crafted.

With a buoyant economy, the use of precious gems was very much a trend worth following, with brightly coloured stones like emeralds and rubies being particularly popular. 

These eye-catching gems were paired with precious metals like gold and platinum to create sleek modern pieces that captured the spirit of the times.

So highly regarded was Fairfax & Roberts that when the Prince of Wales visited Australia in 1927, the pair crafted a sterling silver kangaroo pin to present to the future monarch.

He was soon to develop a reputation as a keen jewellery connoisseur when purchasing gifts for his future wife Wallis Simpson, whose collection was legendary.

As hemlines were shortened, women’s hair was bobbed as well – leading to a desire for elaborate jewelled hair ornaments and glittering dangling earrings that were no longer hidden by high-maintenance hairstyles.

Luxurious on-trend jewellery like this may well have been worn to Sydney society events such as the wedding of visiting Italian opera stars Toti Dal Monte and Enzo de Muro Lomanto at St Mary’s Cathedral  – an event that was watched by a crowd of 25,000 people who gathered in College St, or perhaps to the wedding of Warwick Fairfax to Miss Marcie Wilson in March, 1928, with six elegant bridesmaids in attendance and a reception at Yandooya in Rose Bay following the ceremony.

While the women of the Art Deco period were simplifying their clothes, the jewellery of the era was still incredibly detailed and, so timeless is this style that much of this design skill and craftsmanship is still in evidence in Fairfax & Roberts designs today. 

It was during this era of hope and exuberance that Fairfax & Roberts consolidated its reputation as the jewellers of choice for many of the nation’s most discerning families. Our commitment to design integrity and innovation, coupled with highly skilled artisans and access to the world’s finest gems and exemplary customer service ensured that Fairfax & Roberts turned history and tradition into a path for the future. A path that the business continues to forge with passion and vigour today.

Learn about our bespoke design process

ENQUIRE